The Sunshine Award

Thanks so much to Lisa at sheslosingit.net for nominating The Eye-Dancers site for a Sunshine Award!  If you haven’t had a chance yet to check out Lisa’s site, please take this opportunity to do so.  It’s a great, informative, and inspirational place to visit!  (And if you have had a chance to visit her site, I’m sure you’ll be back there many times.)  Thanks again so much, Lisa!

sunshine-award

The Rules:  Post the Sunshine Award image, answer the following 10 questions and note 10 blogs you wish to nominate.

The 10 questions and my answers:

  • Favourite colour: I have always liked the color green–the color of springtime after a long New England winter.  There’s nothing quite like it.
  • Favourite animal: This is very hard, actually.  I love many animals, and I honestly can’t choose just one as a favorite.  I can say–when I was very young, my favorite animals were snakes.  One time at the zoo, when I was about six, there was a grass snake slithering around the grounds.  I bent down, picked it up, and my mother wasn’t too happy about it.  But a zoo worker was nearby and she praised me for knowing how to pick up and handle the snake properly.  I guess that compliment stayed with me, as I’m remembering it all these years later!
  • Favourite number: Twelve!  With twenty-seven a distant second . . .
  • Favourite non-alcoholic drink: Just plain water.
  • Facebook or Twitter: Facebook–mainly because I’ve never had a Twitter account!
  • My passion:  There is nothing like writing something–a story, an essay, anything creative–and having it move others in some way.  If a story of mine causes you to think of something in a slightly different way, if it makes you laugh or cry, if it makes you want to yell at the characters or just sit back and smile–well, that’s an incredible feeling.  I hope The Eye-Dancers does all of that and more.
  • Favourite pattern: I guess I’d have to say the symmetry and design of a tennis court–an old-school grass court on a cloudless summer day.  I’ll take that pattern any day.  (Is that a pattern??)
  • Favourite day of the week:  Saturday, probably.  It’s the day I can sleep in a little and it kicks off the weekend.
  • Favourite flower: The wild lupins that grow along the roadsides in summer on Prince Edward Island, Canada–my favorite vacation destination.   The beautiful flowers turn an already magnificent natural landscape into a palette of vibrant colors.

And my nominees for the Sunshine Award are:

  1. http://theothersideofugly.com/
  2. http://jenniferpaetsch.com/
  3. http://kelihasablog.wordpress.com/
  4. http://lolarugula.com/
  5. http://twentyfourseveninfrance.com/
  6. http://alesiablogs.wordpress.com/
  7. http://cinemaschminema.com/
  8. http://honeydidyouseethat.wordpress.com/
  9. http://oilpastelsbymary.com/
  10. http://fortyoneteen.wordpress.com/

These are all great and eclectic sites.  I highly recommend them, and hope you stop in at each one for a long and enjoyable visit.

Thanks so much again, Lisa, for the award!  And thanks to everyone for reading.

–Mike

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. letizia
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 19:49:01

    Congratulations 🙂 I know what you mean about that green after a long winter; it’s SO wonderful! In French it’s called ‘tendre vert’ – they even have a perfume of that name. It brings a smile to my face just thinking of it!

    Reply

  2. The Other Side of Ugly
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 20:21:15

    Thank you Michael, for passing this forward to me. But most importantly congrats my friend. I’m so happy that you have this award as you do being sunshine into people’s lives. Many hugs, Sheri

    Reply

  3. alesiablogs
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 22:11:55

    Thank you so much. I am so humbled by this …Hopefully I will get to the questions soon! It makes me feel good to know I can put a smile on someone’s face right at the time they need it. Bless you, Alesia

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 22:56:28

    Congratulations on your Sunshine Award, well deserved! And, thank you for your nomination of my blog, http://www.Oilpastelsbymary.com I really appreciate it!

    Reply

  5. valentina
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 23:26:00

    Congratulations! 😀

    Reply

  6. Sandee
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 02:23:02

    Nice award! I have that same writing passion.

    Reply

  7. fairytaleepidemic
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 02:39:10

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  8. dannadesigns
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 08:49:06

    Congrats!

    Reply

  9. Lesley
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 12:07:55

    Congratulations Mike and thanks for the nomination! I love this idea of recognizing other bloggers and sharing their sites, so your support means a lot! Best wishes to you – you deserve it.

    Reply

  10. readinpleasure
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 15:01:17

    Congrats on your award. 🙂

    Reply

  11. mistylayne
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 20:53:14

    Congratulations! And thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂

    Reply

  12. myfavesjournal
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 23:41:35

    Congrats!!!

    Reply

  13. europasicewolf
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 00:14:00

    Congratulations! Well deserved 🙂 But!!! Your favourite animal? It is a SNAKE!!!! A slithering one at that!! You were supposed to say WOLF! lol 😉 Ice wolf even!! lol…I don’t know…terrible! What is the world coming to! lol 🙂

    Reply

  14. Charron's Chatter
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 15:34:06

    Oh you must get on Twitter. Especially if you are promoting yourself. I didn’t for the longest time, but it really is a great network!

    I also dig the number 12, though 3 is my favorite. Cute post! 🙂

    Reply

  15. petit4chocolatier
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 01:43:35

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  16. Christy Birmingham
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 20:29:27

    Congrats on the great award!!

    Reply

  17. The Other Side of Ugly
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 17:13:17

    Congratulations Michael. And thank. Much love, Sheri

    Reply

Leave a comment