Brave New World

At one point in The Eye-Dancers, while marooned in the variant town of Colbyville, Mitchell Brant, Joe Marma, Ryan Swinton. and Marc Kuslanski talk to a girl and her brother.  During the conversation, Joe pulls out his cell phone, even though he already knows it won’t work.  There is no cell phone network in Colbyville.

Intrigued by the device, having never before seen one, the girl asks him what it is and what it does.  This is when Mitchell, ever the storyteller, intervenes.  He says that Marc, the science wiz, is in the process of inventing something called the cell phone.  Marc throws Mitchell a “why are you getting me into this” look, but ultimately he plays along, explaining the concepts of cellular technology to the girl and her brother.

Certainly the tremendous proliferation of e-books and Nooks and Kindles is not merely the rambling bluster of a seventh-grade know-it-all.  (No offense, Marc!)  This is a very real phenomenon.  And it’s been around for a few years now.  Even two years ago, a headline in the Daily Mail exclaimed, “Is it the end for the paperback?”  With apologies to Aldous Huxley, it is a brave new world.

One of the remarkable features of e-books is–they can be read on nearly anything.  Of course, e-readers like the Nook and Kindle are ubiquitous these days . . .

nook

kindle

. . . but the fact is, you do not need an e-reader to read e-books.

One thing I have learned since publishing The Eye-Dancers is that there is still a misconception among many people that, if you don’t own a Kindle or a Nook, you can’t read an e-book.  I’ve run into this with family, friends, and just in general.  A lot of people aren’t aware of the Nook App and Kindle App.  These programs allow you to download the Apps onto your smartphone, tablet, PC, iPad, or pretty much any device you have.  And, best of all, they’re free.  That’s always a good thing.

So, if you have yet to join the e-book revolution because you don’t own an electronic reader, there is no need to wait any longer.  Simply download the free Nook App or Kindle App onto whatever device is most convenient for you, and you’ll be ready to purchase as many e-books as you want.

It’s an exciting time for independent authors around the world.  Even just a decade ago, there were not many avenues available for effective distribution of self-published books.  But today, the old cliche is literally true–the sky is the limit.

It is indeed a brave new world.

Thanks for reading!

–Mike

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. honeydidyouseethat?
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 19:08:55

    I think I knew this. But I prefer my kindle as it doesn’t hurt my eyes and it’s easy to read outside. Thanks for dropping by.

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Feb 01, 2013 @ 21:05:32

      That’s true–reading books on a cell phone can be hard on the eyes! I actually have the Kindle App for PC, which works great. The nice thing, though, is that the Kindle App and Nook App can be put onto just about anything. Great flexibility.

      Reply

  2. Kim
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 20:57:55

    I’ve heard the, “but I don’t have a Kindle,” line several times as well. I dutifully helped my mom download the Kindle Cloud Reader on her PC. Great post!

    Reply

  3. fortyoneteen
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 00:29:56

    I didn’t know that! Technology scares me… I dropped 4 IQ points when I got my smarty pants phone. Looking to hire an I.T. department, but my nephews won’t be in it. Something about sweat shops or some such nonsense!

    Reply

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 20:12:57

    It is a brave new world! I have a mac and bought a book online recently. I thought you HAD to have a kindle, but no…

    Reply

  5. LoveJoy
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 10:02:32

    Hi, thanks for stopping by! Also, I’ll be downloading a Nook or Kindle app soon!

    Reply

  6. Christy Birmingham
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 00:45:36

    The Kindle app is a good one!

    Reply

  7. mcwoman
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 13:47:38

    Thanks, MIke. I keep hoping my fairy godmother will drop a kindle fire on my doorstep, but so far, no luck. Your information was like a revelation to me because there are SO MANY books out there I’d like to read electronically. Thanks for the enlightenment.

    Reply

  8. Sue Dreamwalker
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 15:14:37

    Thank you, I have learnt something new today.. being self taught on the Pc.. and being and only joining the web in 2006 Im way behind in the technological dept’ So I will look into your advice.. thank you.

    Reply

  9. evilnymphstuff
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 17:10:26

    Changes, inventions, novelty… it’s just all happening so quickly! Great improvements are indeed happening concerning the publishing industry. The sky is the limit for sure… or not! Soon there won’t be any limits.
    Very interesting post!

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Feb 04, 2013 @ 20:15:38

      The publishing industry is indeed going through a revolution even as we speak. Years from now, it wouldn’t be surprising if people referred to the second decade of the 21st century as a great turning point in book publishing history!

      Reply

  10. kelihasablog
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 01:34:41

    Oh that is so cool Mike! Thanks, my daughter just made me get an iphone, so just as soon as I figure out how to download to it I will do the kindle one. I already have your book on my Nook… and I love…. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

