Some of My Favorite Things (Blogs) . . . (Or, the Blog of the Year Award 2013!)

Just shy of one year ago, when The Eye-Dancers site was a fledgling neophyte in the WordPress community, I received my first blog award.  Sheri from The Other Side of Ugly awarded The Eye-Dancers with a Blog of the Year 2012 award.  It was a wonderful moment.  Just starting out, unsure of even the simplest steps to take in the blogosphere, it was a tremendous boost of confidence receiving Sheri’s nomination.  I truly appreciated it then, and truly appreciate it now.

sunrise

 

So it seems fitting somehow that Sheri has again nominated The Eye-Dancers for a Blog of the Year Award–this time for 2013!  Thank you very much, Sheri!  Your continued support over the past year has meant a lot.  For those of you not familiar with Sheri’s blog, The Other Side of Ugly, I hope you’ll take a look.  It is a gem of a site, and should not be missed.

blogofyear

 

Before going on, I would like to take this opportunity to pause for a moment, and thank the wonderful bloggers who have nominated The Eye-Dancers for several other awards over the past few months . . .

Thanks so much to Reshu Malhotra who nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award.  Reshu has a great blog where she writes about health and beauty, sharing with her readers very knowledgeable tips and helpful advice.  Hers is a  beautiful blog, in every sense of the word!

Jennifer Marsh nominated The Eye-Dancers for One Lovely Blog Award.  Jennifer is a very talented author, and I am a big fan of her site!  Please take some time to browse through it.  I’m confident you will become a big fan, too.

Leslie from lesliesholly nominated me for The Sunshine Award.  Leslie has a very eclectic blog, where she talks about a variety of topics, and always keeps her readers engaged.  Her blog is a great place to visit!

Ampbreia’s Space nominated The Eye-Dancers for The Leibster Award.  Ampbeia’s blog is diverse, well written, thought-provoking, and just plain good.  I hope you will stop in for an extended visit!

And Sherri from A View From My Summerhouse nominated The Eye-Dancers for a Dragon’s Loyalty Award.  Sherri’s site is a treasure.  I promise you–if you stop by, you’ll want to stay for a while!

I was lucky enough to have already been nominated for each of these awards previously, but I wanted to thank all of the great bloggers above for their nominations!  I really appreciate it.

*****************************

The instructions for the Blog of the Year 2013 Award are simple:

1-Select the blog(s) you think deserve the Blog Of The Year 2013 Award.

2-Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen- there are no minimum or maximum number of blogs required- and ‘present’ the blog(s) with their award.

3-Let the blog(s) that you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the instructions with them- (please don’t alter the instructions or the badges!)

4-Come over and say hello to the originator of the Blog Of The Year 2013 Award via this link :http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/blog-awards-2-/blog-of-the-year-2013-award/

5-You can now also join the Blog Of The Year Award Facebook Page.Click the link here:https://www.facebook.com/groups/BlogoftheYear

Share your blog posts with  an even wider audience.

6-And as a winner of the award- please add a link back to the blog that presented you with this award-and then proudly display the award on your blog- and start collecting stars!

stars

Who doesn’t love collecting stars? I can see a bright smile on your face and stop being shy. Come on! It’s all yours and grab the awards

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once-this award is different!

When you begin you will receive the ’1 star’ award- and every time you are given the award by another blog- you can add another star!

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favorite blogs- and even if they have already been given the award by someone else- you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum of 6 stars! You can either ‘swop’ your badge for the next one each time you are given the award- or even proudly display all six badges if you are lucky enough to be presented with the award 6 times!

You can find all the badges and banners and information you need via this link: ‘Blog of The Year 2013′ Award Badges.

*******************

In the celebrated Rodgers and Hammerstein musical The Sound of Music, a defining moment is when Maria sings “My Favorite Things” to the von Trapp children.  It is one of the first moments of true bonding Maria shares with the children, and is one of my favorite scenes of the production.

som

 

So, without further delay, I would like to nominate some of my favorite blogs for the Blog of the Year 2013 award!

http://stormy1218.wordpress.com/

http://stylesalvation.wordpress.com/

http://honeydidyouseethat.wordpress.com/

http://thebondingtool.com/

http://lolarugula.com/

http://oilpastelsbymary.com/

http://charronschatter.com/

http://dadialogues.wordpress.com/

http://sherrimatthewsblog.com/

http://awaywithwordsblog.com/

http://wannabephotographer87.wordpress.com/

http://beebeesworld.wordpress.com/

http://jkmarsh12.wordpress.com/

http://suedreamwalker.wordpress.com/

http://whenibecameanauthor.wordpress.com/

Some of Maria’s favorite things in The Sound of Music include “raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens . . .”  The blogs listed above are some of mine.  And I’m sure they will be some of yours, too.

In this season of thankfulness, I also want to extend a hearty thank-you to all the great followers of The Eye-Dancers website.  You are the reason this is so much fun for me.

tgiving

 

Thanks so much for reading!

–Mike

74 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sam Han
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 21:27:24

    Congratulations Michael! Thanks for the nomination 😀 I will get to it asap 😀

    Reply

  2. Sam Han
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 21:29:23

    The facebook blog award page is closed group so needs to be invited, Michael 😀

    Reply

  3. martaperegrina
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 21:44:57

    Felicitaciones Mike por esta nueva nominación.
    Que tengas un feliz final de semana.

    Reply

  4. Bonnie Marshall
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 22:09:06

    Mike, the ripple effect of your support for my just beginning site continue. I remain so very grateful. Congratulations!

    Reply

  5. Charlene Woodley
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 23:46:34

    Congrats to you! 🙂

    Reply

  6. tonyroberts64
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 00:55:08

    What a wonderful blessing to share as we celebrate Thanksgiving. I am touched and grateful and gladly accept.

    May you be blessed this holiday season and beyond.

    Reply

  7. winnymarch
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 01:46:25

    congratulations

    Reply

  8. stormy1812
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 02:01:37

    Thank you so much! I’m so honored. I’ll be sure to work on this as soon as possible. It’s been such a privilege to have found this site and to have your encouragement. You’re a wonderful writer and I’m looking forward to more of what you have to say. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Charron's Chatter
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 02:05:48

    You are so gracious, Mike. Really as shining as the stars you award. Thank you for thinking of me. I hope you have a great Turkey Day tomorrow. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Ste J
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 02:32:08

    Not only is this well deserved but on a selfish perspective, there is now a whole plethora of new blogs for me to peruse…yay!

    Reply

  11. Mary
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 03:44:21

    Congratulations Mike, well deserved. Thank you for giving me this award, I’m honored.

    Reply

  12. Jamie Ayres
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 04:52:28

    Congrats on another award! Happy THanksgiving 🙂

    Reply

  13. wannabephotographer87
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 04:57:51

    Mike!!! You’re too sweet! Thank you so much for keeping me in mind 🙂 such an honor

    Reply

  14. Kavita Joshi
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 04:58:27

    congratulations dear…well deserved I must say 🙂

    Reply

  15. dannadesigns
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 05:03:38

    Thanks so much for nominating me and a big Congratulations to you!

    Reply

  16. Sherri
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 10:37:11

    Many, many congratulations on all your well deserved awards Mike and thank you so much for thinking of me for the Blogger of the Year Award, wow, I am truly honoured and actually quite speechless (and that doesn’t happen very often, I can assure you!) This is a beautiful gift, you’ve really made my day 🙂

    Wishing you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    Reply

  17. jenniferkmarsh
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 10:46:33

    I’m really honoured, Mike. Thank you ever so much! And a huge congratulations to you 😀 You are incredibly worthy of this award – well deserved!

    Reply

  18. Francina
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 11:32:10

    Congratulation, Michael, with your award, Very well deserved, you can be proud of your blog!
    groetes, Francina

    Reply

  19. Janice Spina
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 13:38:21

    Congratulations on all your awards! You are very deserving of all of them. It is an extreme pleasure to know you, Mike, and to call you friend! Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Blessed,Bountiful Blogs | A Way With Words
  21. lesliesholly
    Nov 29, 2013 @ 17:25:54

    Congratulations, Mike, and thanks for the shout-out. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  22. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 09:12:41

    Joys, Mike 🙂 It’s lovely to celebrate in the blogging world like this.

    Reply

  23. Fashion Mayann
    Dec 02, 2013 @ 15:49:58

    It seems like I never stop congratulating you for getting a new award !!! This one is pretty special though, but, as always, you sooooooo deserve it !

    Reply

  24. BroadBlogs
    Dec 02, 2013 @ 17:00:43

    Congrats! You deserve it.

    Reply

  25. stockdalewolfe
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 15:54:55

    Congratulations!! You certainly deserve it!! Thanks so much for visiting my blog so often!! Sending a hug, Ellen

    Reply

  26. SerachShiro
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 21:37:16

    Congratulations you deserve it 🙂 !

    Reply

  27. BeWithUs
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 08:13:38

    Congratulations, my friend!

    Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

    Reply

  28. myfavesjournal
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 23:44:53

    Congratulations!!!

    Reply

  29. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 15:57:36

    Mike apologies it has taken me a while to get around to acknowledging your post . First I want to say Congratulations on receiving this award Well done and deserved.. And second, to thank you so much for the nomination of Dreamwalker’s sanctuary, you are now the second to nominate my blog, so I guess that means two stars :-)… It is taking me forever to catch up with people and awards as I have been absent for a few days on WP..But I hope within the next couple of days do justice to this and other awards…
    Many thanks Mike, and I hope all is well with you and yours..
    Blessings And much gratitude my friend for thinking of me 😀
    Sue 🙂

    Reply

  30. Sherri
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 14:52:17

    Hi Mike, just to let you know that I have posted my acceptance post for The Blog of the Year Award 2013 and to thank you once again for nominating me, it really means so much! Have a super day my friend 🙂
    Here is the link: http://sherrimatthewsblog.com/2013/12/10/going-out-in-style-blog-of-the-year-award-2013/

    Reply

  31. mlhe
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 18:08:46

    Thank you so much for listing your favorite blogs! I will use them to do more reading and exploring on WP in 2014. I am so happy to know of your blog. May all good things arrive in your life during this interesting time of year!

    Reply

  32. beebeesworld
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 02:05:34

    great work-keep your creative spirits up beebee

    Reply

  33. jjspina
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 20:28:19

    Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a healthy and happy New Year!!
    xo

    Reply

  34. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 18:53:24

    Mike Wishing you a wonderful Christmas with Family and Friends, and thank you for your support over this year… May you have continued success with all of your writing and publications throughout 2014…
    Love and Blessings
    Sue

    Reply

  35. Trackback: Blog Of The Year Award 2013! | The Bonding Tool
  36. Trackback: An award | When I Became an Author
  37. reocochran
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 22:53:51

    Great post with great choices! I agree that I have read several of your blogs of the year 2013 and they are really enjoyable! Congratulations on your nominations!

    Reply

Leave a comment