Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (in St. Louis or Anywhere)!

There are magical moments in movies, in stories, in life–they become frozen in time, as it were, there to be captured, and recaptured, like old friends always ready to greet us with a hug and a smile.

frozenintime

 

There are, for example, signature moments I can recall from my past–memories, highlights, experiences that remain vivid and true, though decades may have elapsed. All I have to do is close my eyes, remember, and I am transported back, across a chasm of time and distance, as if by magic.

timetravel

 

Favorite scenes in books, movies, television shows offer a comforting helping hand, as well, only in this case, you don’t need to remember anything.  You can reread a favorite passage, rewatch a favorite scene–experiencing anew the special bond these creations share with you.

specialbonds

 

For me, one such movie is Meet Me in St. Louis, which hit the theaters in 1944 and starred Judy Garland, just five years removed from her signature role of Dorothy Gale, in The Wizard of Oz.  In Meet Me in St. Louis, a period piece, Garland portrays Esther Smith, against the backdrop of the 1904 World’s Fair.  Though much of the movie takes place in warmer months, I will always view Meet Me in St. Louis as a Christmas classic.

meetmeinstlouisposter

 

I’ve always enjoyed old movies.  Even as a kid, I’d happily tune in to old black-and-white classics, films from yesteryear, featuring larger-than-life icons like Cary Grant, Clark Gable, and Katharine Hepburn.  So it was no surprise, one snowy December night, when I was fourteen years old, that I was watching Siskel and Ebert.  I used to watch their show every week back in the day, enjoying their analysis, their banter, their arguments.  But on this night, on the eve of the yuletide, they closed their program by showing a clip from Meet Me in St. Louis.

siskelandebert

 

“Here’s Judy Garland singing ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,'” Gene Siskel announced–and instantly I entered into a story, a set of characters, a movie I had never seen or experienced.  But none of that mattered, because when I watched that clip–Garland’s character singing one of my favorite holiday songs to Margaret O’Brien, who plays her little sister in the film–it made no difference that I didn’t know the context of the scene or how it interacted with the overall flow of the film.

garlandsings

 

All that mattered was a magical performance, a holiday classic, a song and a scene that transcended its WWII-era audience and, somehow, managed to speak to me, a teenager in western New York State, born decades after the movie was filmed.

speaktomedecadeslater

 

And today, more than seventy years after Judy Garland sang “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” on the Silver Screen, may the song’s spirit and sentiment reach everyone this holiday season.

“Let your heart be light,” and may your “troubles . . . be out of sight . . . as in olden days, happy golden days of yore; faithful friends who are dear to us gather near to us once more.”

Wishing all of you a happy and joyous holiday, and a blessed and merry New Year.

endofpost

 

See you all in 2016!

Thanks so much for reading!

–Mike

 

81 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Camie
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 21:20:44

    I love old movies, too. Judy Garland had such a beautiful voice. Merry Christmas.

    Reply

  2. thespiritkeepers
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 21:26:58

    Reply

  3. Lee
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 21:27:27

    Merry Christmas

    Reply

  4. deborahanndykeman
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 21:37:25

    Thank you so much for this post. I too have always thought of ‘Meet Me in St. Louis’ as a Christmas movie, and the song you mentioned is my favorite in the movie. LOVE the red dress! Have a Merry Christmas and Blessed 2016 with much writing success!

    Reply

  5. Sue Dreamwalker
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 21:54:02

    Enjoy a Magical Christmas Mike..

    Reply

  6. Chic Mona
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 23:09:17

    Happy Christmas to you and your family Michael.Yes, I love ole films too. I just watched “Meet Me in St.Louis” on TCM this week. Thanks for sharing. Cheers to 2016!

    Reply

  7. John W. Howell
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 23:26:02

    Lovely post, Mike. Have yourself a Merry Big Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Reply

  8. Dream it Alive
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 23:31:28

    Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  9. thelonelyauthorblog
    Dec 23, 2015 @ 23:42:35

    Thank you for this wonderful post. I have never seen “Meet Me In St Louis.” I will make a point to see it. Mike, I wish a very merry Christmas to you and yours and a happy and healthy 2016. BTW, on Monday my post talked about my three month blogging anniversary. You were the first person who ever followed me. Thank you so much for that. Really enjoyed this lovely post.

    Reply

  10. Carol Balawyder
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 01:34:48

    Thank you for your holiday wishes and likewise I wish you and your loved ones a joyous and blessed holiday.

    Reply

  11. laurelwolfelives
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 01:46:05

    My favorite was always “It’s A Wonderful Life.” Merry Christmas!

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:55:03

      Merry Christmas! And I’m with you.:) I love Meet Me in St. Louis, but you just can’t beat Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed and Bedford Falls! It’s a Wonderful Life is one of my all-time favorites.

      Reply

  12. jjspina
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 02:46:24

    Great post, Michael! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and.happy New Year! 😘

    Reply

  13. joannerambling
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 02:57:40

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, I love Christmas and I believe loving the season helps one enjoy the season, if a person goes around saying how they don’t like Christmas they are a misery guts and bring the mood down

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:59:57

      Merry Christmas, Joanne! And maybe those people who say they don’t like Christmas need a reminder from movies like Meet Me in St. Louis and It’s a Wonderful Life.:)

      Reply

  14. Geetha B
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 04:09:03

    Enjoy the holiday season. I’m thinking I should see Meet me in St Louis now.

    Reply

  15. daisywillows
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 07:59:05

    I’m not an avid black and white classic movie watcher but the times I have watched them I do find it hard to not get entrenched in the story. Actors from past decades were so skilled and genuinely talented. They had to act/sing/dance and have presence. Thanks for the post. Merry Christmas to you too.

    Reply

  16. Sherri
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:13:07

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you Mike! See you in 2016 🙂

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:58:05

      Merry Christmas, Sherri! It will be a green one this year in Vermont–very unusual for us here! And have a wonderful New Year as well.:)

      Reply

      • Sherri
        Dec 29, 2015 @ 16:44:00

        Thanks Mike! Yes, it is so weird this weather. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and wishing you a very Happy New Year! I wonder if either of us will see snow any time soon…! 🙂

  17. eemoxam
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:40:24

    I’ve never seen that movie, but I’ll have to now! Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  18. Mary J. McCoy-Dressel
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 13:09:03

    Enjoyable post as usual. Merry Christmas to you and yours, Mike.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  19. Kathy Lauren
    Dec 24, 2015 @ 13:26:39

    Lovely story, brought back lots of memories.

    Reply

  20. inesephoto
    Dec 26, 2015 @ 15:00:28

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  21. Sonya Solomonovich
    Dec 26, 2015 @ 20:02:21

    One of my favorite Christmas classic is White Christmas, and I’d like to see Meet me in St.Louis. I hope you had a great Christmas, Mike! Wishing you all the best in 2016!

    Reply

  22. Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner
    Dec 28, 2015 @ 00:43:53

    Hope your Christmas was as merry as mine, Mike. And have yourself the happiest of Happy New Year’s too! ❤

    Reply

  23. stormy1812
    Dec 28, 2015 @ 21:56:04

    I am, as always as of late, a bit behind but I hope you had a very Merry Christmas! Wishing you a very Happy New Year! 🙂 May you have many of those key, wondrous moments throughout 2016 🙂

    Reply

  24. thefolia
    Dec 29, 2015 @ 18:57:51

    Peace onto us all!

    Reply

  25. sherazade
    Dec 29, 2015 @ 19:33:07

    I love old movies top!
    Happy New 2016!!!
    Compliments for your post and that song so sweet. .
    My xmass movies are “It s a wonderful word” Frank Capra & “Miracle on 34 street”!
    Ciao!
    Auguri da Roma
    Sherazade

    Reply

  26. YvoCaro
    Dec 29, 2015 @ 21:37:49

    You’re very welcome! I love old movies too, just this morning I caught Showboat on the TV and I couldn’t stop watching, then I really had other stuff to do. Especially old musicals, really a joy to watch.

    Reply

  27. aliceandembo
    Dec 30, 2015 @ 04:15:13

    Makes me nostalgic…in a good,happy way! Thanks for this beautiful share! A blessed new year to you!

    Reply

  28. insearchofitall
    Dec 30, 2015 @ 16:20:30

    Hope you had a Merry Christmas. Have a fantastic New Year.

    Reply

  29. Leyla
    Jan 01, 2016 @ 16:35:44

    Happy New Year 2016, friend 🙂

    Reply

  30. A. Blake
    Jan 02, 2016 @ 07:23:26

    HAPPY NEW YEAR – MAY IT BE FILLED WITH PEACE, PROSPERITY AND HAPPINESS!

    Reply

  31. imaginenewdesigns12
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 05:23:55

    I am glad that it is possible for us to hold on to special moments and experiences through our memories. Good memories can help us enjoy happy occasions even more, and they can also help us get through difficult times. Happy New Year, and thank you for liking “Storm Clouds” and “Through the Dark Woods.” 🙂

    Reply

  32. Stephanae V. McCoy
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 13:33:25

    Happy New Year Mike!! It’s such a good feeling to recall precious moments that mean so much to us. While I don’t remember watching Meet Me In Saint Louis (I certainly could have but just can’t recollect) just reading this piece brought forth other memories that made me feel warm and happy. Thank you for sharing this piece that evoked such strong feelings.

    Reply

  33. Christy Birmingham
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 18:05:34

    I hope your Christmas was wonderful! Happy New Year, Mike 🙂 I wish you a year of writing, reading, fun, happiness, and… love!

    Reply

  34. reocochran
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 23:10:00

    Hi Mike, we got kind of busy over the holidays and I neglected to mention I featured you on my December 30th or 31st post about fellow bloggers who are authors. I had a list of 14 authors. 🙂 It was a way to suggest everyone start the new year reading!
    Happy New Year, dear Mike. Hope you had a wonderful holiday and will have an even better 2016. Wishing you great health and special moments, Mike.

    Reply

  35. reocochran
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 23:17:26

    In my small town of Delaware, Ohio the house where Vincent Minelli once lived was on our trick or treat route. I featured it back this fall and the year before around Halloween, Mike. Another “cool ” fact is there is a golden brass plate on the house I took a photograph of in October. It is on North Washington Street, it inspired the set design for the movie he directed, as you mentioned: “Meet Me in St. Louis.” 🙂 The photograph I posted had pumpkins on steps of the yellow house.

    Reply

  36. VanessaxGrace
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 22:28:01

    How charming. What a pleasure to meet you through this post! Thanks for the follow too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

