A Season of Thanksgiving, a Milestone Reached

I am always amazed at how time flies–or so it seems.  “The more I see, the less I know for sure,” John Lennon once said.  But it certainly feels like time speeds along, as if it were some majestic, brightly colored bird, wings outstretched, slicing through the crisp, still November air.

heron

 

It is hard for me now, sitting in front of my trusty old PC, to believe that I began writing The Eye-Dancers back in the first decade of this century, or that I started to conceive of an Eye-Dancers blog more than thirty full moons ago.  Perhaps, as Einstein said, time is an illusion.  How else to explain the swift passage of months and years?

fullmoon

 

When I began this blog, I hadn’t a clue what I was doing.  (It can be argued that I still don’t!)  I had just written a novel, and planned on publishing it.  Other than myself, a few friends, and immediate family members, not a soul anywhere on earth or beyond knew of the soon-to-be book.  I needed a vehicle, something, anything, to “get the word out.”  One of the things I decided upon was a blog devoted to the novel, its characters, its themes, its inspirations, and the process that went in to writing it in the first place.

writingthenovel

 

It was a daunting task.  I knew nothing, less than nothing, about blogging, and had no idea if anyone “out there” would want to learn more about the novel, read about my interests, my take on writing and creativity, read my short stories . . .  It almost seemed egotistical.  Who was I to begin a blog?  Who was I to try and promote a book?  The doubts were very real.  As were the worries.  When I posted my first blog entry, I wondered, first and foremost, if it would be the online equivalent to a black hole and if anyone would even see it or read it; and, second, what their response might be if they did . . .

blackhole

 

But I also knew I had spent over two years writing and editing The Eye-Dancers.  I felt strongly about it, and I did not want the book to lie in a dark dresser drawer, or on a computer hard drive, as the case may be, collecting (virtual) dust, hidden from the world.

eyedancerscover

 

“If you have built castles in the air,” Thoreau said decades and decades ago, from the mists and echoes of the nineteenth century, “your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.”  That was what I intended to do.  I had a hammer, a chisel, and a determination to keep at it.

castlesintheair

 

Now I just needed to see how my posts would be received.

I learned very early on that there was no cause for concern.  No one came on the site and blasted the concept.  No one said, “Go home, you talentless wannabe.  We don’t need another sci-fi/fantasy blog!”  On the contrary . . . right from the first, fellow bloggers were welcoming, kind, interested, and, above all, supportive.  For a new blogger like me, it was just the encouragement I needed.

Gradually, slowly, day by day, The Eye-Dancers blog grew.  I remember the snowy winter day, nearly two years ago now, when I reached one hundred followers.  One hundred!  It was more than I had hoped for when I’d started.  It served as a tonic, a motivation to keep at it and keep going.

100

 

Fast-forward to early November 2014, when The Eye-Dancers reached a milestone, going over 3,000 followers.  I never would have imagined this website would stick around this long, or continue growing as it has–and it wouldn’t have, it if it hadn’t been for the WordPress community.  I can’t thank each and every one of you enough.

3000

 

Because of you–your comments, support, interest, and willingness to read these random scribblings I come up with, The Eye-Dancers site has evolved from a place where I originally intended to simply promote my novel to a community of dreamers and writers and artists and thinkers and poets and friends.  It is a joy for me to be a part of.

dreamers

 

So consider this post a thank-you, from me to you in this month of Thanksgiving.  And though I’ve been blogging for over two years now, I can honestly say–this is still only just the beginning.

cornucopia

 

There are so many posts yet to write, so many blogs to enjoy, so many dreams to dream.

Perhaps that last part is the most important–for all of us.  The Eye-Dancers, both the novel and the blog–is all about looking up at the stars on a clear night, seeing them sparkle, like distant diamonds in the sky, and having the courage and hope and faith to believe . . .

stars

 

“Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations,” Louisa May Alcott once wrote. “I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.”

Thanks so much to all of you in the WordPress community for helping me, and inspiring me, to keep on reaching.  You’re the best.

reachforstars

 

And thanks so much for reading!

–Mike

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John W. Howell
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 14:03:19

    You have a special talent Michael and it is no wonder you have 3000 followers. I have enjoyed the association and the book.

    Reply

  2. jjspina
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 14:21:57

    This was a lovely post, Michael, so heartfelt and warm, just like you. Congratulations on over 3000 followers which is still climbing, I am sure. You deserve everyone’s support and love. You are one of a kind, a truly talented writer who writes from his heart and soul. I continue to be an ardant fan, my friend. xo

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 14:53:50

    What a beautiful post, congratulations on your success of followers and the book – your tenacious efforts continues the journey of your writing – the results are fantastic reads. I’m looking forward to many more of your posts. Best to you ~

    Reply

  4. ptero9
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 15:15:41

    Nice! Congratulations Michael! You have a great blog. Your writing is intriguing and suspenseful with just the right touch of nostalgia.

    Reply

  5. Lynda
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 16:20:03

    I don’t come here often enough, Michael. Your posts are always uplifting and positive on the writing and blogging processes, and the stories you share are thoughtful; they inspire me to write. Is it any wonder so many of us follow your blog? Congratulations!

    Reply

  6. readingwithrhythm
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 16:49:56

    Fantastic!!!

    Reply

  7. stockdalewolfe
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 17:39:25

    You deserve all the praise and response you get– that and more!! Congratulations on your milestones! Best, Ellen

    Reply

  8. cindy knoke
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 19:31:55

    Fabulousness! ❤

    Reply

  9. Lyn
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 01:09:40

    Super congratulations, Michael, may your followers continue to increase. You have a great blog and it’s all down to hard work on your part. We just tag along for the ride 😀

    Reply

  10. Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 20:08:05

    Congratulations! And adding to Lyn’s comment…it’s been wonderfully inspiring tagging along. Give yourself a gigantor pat on the back…I am!

    Reply

  11. Ipuna Black
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 06:53:45

    Thank you for you honest account of how you felt in this “on-line” process. You put yourself out there. It’s scary. I share many of your past concerns. Your post is inspiring! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

  12. AGentleandQuietSpirit
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 01:17:14

    Congrats! You’re such a big encouragement to me and so many other bloggers. Thanks for carrying on!!!!

    Reply

  13. Karen's Nature Art
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 03:05:31

    Congratulations! I love reading your blog, so it’s no surprise to me that you’re gaining a following-just takes time and perseverance!

    Reply

  14. Sherri
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 11:05:09

    Mike, I am so grateful to have met you here from my very early days of blogging and I’m not surprised at how much your wonderful blog has grown, thanks to your beautifully crafted posts and encouragement and outreach to other bloggers. Many congratulations on this fantastic milestone and I continue to wish you every success with Eye Dancers. Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    Reply

  15. teagan geneviene
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 12:48:12

    Congratulations Michael. Well done. Happy Thanksgiving Hugs!

    Reply

  16. Ste J
    Nov 25, 2014 @ 19:33:35

    I wish you a happy Thanksgiving, it is wonderful how the daunting nature of a blog is quickly superseded and you talent has shone through. Keep it up sir and reap the rewards you deserve.

    Reply

  17. onemunchingmomma
    Nov 27, 2014 @ 04:58:56

    Congratulations…certainly not a small feat! You have been such an encouragement, thanks for the visits and likes!

    Reply

  18. weeklywitterings
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 06:58:35

    Thanks for the like and follow and i have replied in kind. I will keep an eye out for your book. It is nice when people like blogs your not to sure of . Thanks again.

    Reply

  19. De Divah Deals
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 15:22:04

    3000 FOLLOWERS – AWESOME – CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    Reply

  20. zooeyibz
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 09:56:55

    Your journey is an inspiration! Best wishes for continued success 🙂

    Reply

  21. 24/7 in France
    Dec 18, 2014 @ 20:00:25

    Congratulations on your success & happy holidays!

    Reply

  22. Ileana
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 15:56:08

    ƸӜƷ ¸.•°*”˜ ƸӜƷ ˜”*°•. ✫ ღ¸☆ ¸.•°*”˜ ƸӜƷ ˜”*°•✫ ✿ ƸӜƷ ✿¸.•°*”˜ƸӜƷ˜
    Bunatatea este infinita pentru aceia pe care noi ii consideram prieteni… Exista totusi prieteni care ne ofera la randul lor acceasi bunatate si aceia sunt adevaratii PRIETENI! O zi binecuvantata!

    Kindness is infinite for those whom we consider friends … However, there are friends who in turn gives us confort kindness and those are real friends!
    A blessed day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

