Worlds without End

Have you ever been somewhere, just some random place on a normal, nondescript day, when, all of a sudden, it hits you?  You blink, once, twice, three times, trying to reorient your senses.  You look more closely at your surroundings, inspecting every detail, hoping to prove–or disprove–your suspicions.  But no matter what you do, or where you look, or how you try to rationalize, the conclusion is inescapable.

catsdejavu

You know you’ve lived this moment before.

Deja vu is a phenomenon that science has never been able to explain with certainty.  It has tried, of course.  Many theories exist.  Perhaps memory itself is the root of the feeling.  Maybe, in moments of deja vu, we are remembering something similar, something partial–unable to make the necessary links to complete the picture.  Maybe there is a rational, scientific, perfectly logical explanation to all cases of deja vu.

memory

Or maybe the answers are not so cut-and-dried.  Certainly, to anyone who has felt a strong sense of “having been there before” when they, in actuality, never have, an explanation of faulty memory or a perception that somehow has gone momentarily haywire might not satisfy.

I know it has never satisfied me.  I have experienced deja vu several times, but there was one episode in particular that stands out from the rest.

I was in a store I had never visited.  I knew this to be true because I had never even been to the town in which this store was located.  It was an old-fashioned country store, in the hills of southern Vermont, the kind of place you might expect to see in a Norman Rockwell painting, with hardwood floors, exposed ceiling beams, and an antique cash register, behind which stood a bespectacled woman with snow-white hair and a welcoming smile.

countrystore

Immediately, upon entering, the feeling hit me, an almost out-of-body sensation.  In my mind’s eye, I saw myself–months ago, years ago?–walking down the aisles, browsing the merchandise, the dull thud of my shoes echoing against the sturdy wooden planks on the floor.  And when the woman behind the register waved, said, “Nice day, thanks for comin’ in,” I knew, knew, she had said those exact words to me before.

hardwoodfloor

I took a deep breath, my head swirling.  I nearly walked out, then and there.  It was too strange, too uncanny.  I paused, thought . . . was I mistaken?  After all, I had been to several country stores throughout Vermont.  Maybe I’d forgotten.  Maybe I had visited this town, this store.  But no.  I was sure of it.  This was the first time.

vermontmap

I walked down one of the aisles, knowing what I would see before I saw it.  I turned into the next aisle, still feeling as if I were somehow hovering above, unseen, a film projector in hand, recording the past, yet playing it simultaneously, the very fabric of time wrapping in and around itself, with me stranded in its spinning, whirling center.  How could this be?  How could my memory of an event that had never transpired be so specific, so actual?

timewrapping

I purchased a small item, checked out.  When the clerk rang me up, I knew what she was going to say.  “Come back and see us again soon.”  I nodded, thanked her, and quickly left.  I have never been back.

Or, perhaps, without knowing it, I have. . . .

********************

The Eye-Dancers, among other things, explores the concept of parallel worlds, of a layered reality, where universes lie, side by side, without any knowledge of each other.  And in these parallel worlds, we have other selves, other versions who go about their days and their lives, just as we do, running errands, picking up the mail, going to the dentist on rainy November mornings–most likely convinced that their universe is unique, the only one in all creation.

novemberrain

In The Eye-Dancers, after journeying through the void and while exploring the variant town of Colbyville, Mitchell Brant, Joe Marma, Ryan Swinton, and Marc Kuslanski are confronted with these issues head-on.  And while discussing their plight, Marc offers this explanation, from chapter 12 . . .

“Everything in existence fits together. . . . The smallest subatomic particle, the worst hurricane, the largest whale, the layers upon layers of reality.  All of it.  And what quantum mechanics tells us is–there are infinitely multiple versions of each of us.  Infinitely multiple versions of our earth.  You couldn’t even begin to count them all.”

whale

Such an idea is difficult for the other boys to grasp, and Marc does admit:  “Infinity will blow your mind if you let it.”  But, given their situation, it is something they think about often.

In chapter 13, in a quiet moment, Joe Marma ponders it all.  The text reads:

“He thought about what Kuslanski had said earlier–worlds upon worlds, onward through infinity.  Each of us scattered throughout the various realities like fallen leaves from the same tree.”

treeleaves

Indeed, might this be the real reason behind deja vu?  Could it be when we feel a strong sensation of having done something we haven’t done, seen something we haven’t seen . . . could it be that some small, hidden aspect of our subconscious mind is remembering an event one of our alternate selves experienced?

subconsciousmind

Marc Kuslanski considers just this in chapter 18 . . .

“It made him wonder.  What we call the subconscious–how much of it is derived from other worlds, other selves, spread out through time and space?  How much of who we are, what we know, is but a small piece, interlocking with an ever-expanding, layered puzzle of an infinity of existences?”

interlockingpuzzles

Far-fetched?  Outlandish?  Perhaps.  But impossible?  Nothing is impossible.  So, you see, maybe I had in fact visited that Rockwell-esque country store before, after all.  And maybe I have again since . . .

. . . in a world far, far away, beyond the sign posts of our reality.  And yet, so close, close enough to almost remember, to almost touch and see.

Close enough that, if we listen, really listen, we can occasionally hear its echoes speaking to us, like soft whispers in the dark.

wormhole

Thanks so much for reading!

–Mike

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Stephenson
    May 09, 2014 @ 20:42:59

    I do love the idea of parallel worlds and all the other lives we might have lived / might be living. I think ultimately there is no time or place, it’s all connected, as you suggest.

    Reply

  2. evelyneholingue
    May 10, 2014 @ 01:43:54

    As always, Mike, your posts trigger unusual reflection. Like you, I have had a few deja vu moments. They left me with a mix of excitement and, like you write, a swirling head.
    I’m not an expert in the field of parallel worlds. Andrea above must know more, I’m sure, but I like the idea of all of us having lived other lives and actually believe it can be possible. It’s actually uplifting to think that way because it means that we might be able to live other lives after the one we are aware of living. Let’s see what others think about this concept that you describe so well.

    Reply

  3. jjspina
    May 10, 2014 @ 01:47:26

    Love the post and the pics! Parallel universe is fascinating and creepy at the same time!

    Reply

  4. lustieb
    May 10, 2014 @ 04:46:13

    I love your posts. Make me think! Have you ever seen fringe? Im addicted

    Reply

  5. renxkyoko
    May 10, 2014 @ 05:39:12

    The feeling of deja vu is an ordinary occurence to me. But I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it. It’;s an unpleasant feeling, it even makes me a bit light-headed for a second.

    Reply

  6. jenniferkmarsh
    May 10, 2014 @ 10:17:40

    Deja vu is certainly a strange one to consider. I like your thoughts here (: It is quite often for me to feel a sense of deja vu. I had one not too long ago, and it was a particularly weird one. I was writing a scene for Book 2, when all of a sudden I just stopped and thought, ‘I’ve written this before.’ But of course I haven’t/hadn’t, because otherwise I wouldn’t have been writing it there and then. And then I was sat wondering whether I’d dreamt that I’d written these exact words, or if I’d already written them somewhere and forgotten I had… It was very bizarre. I didn’t even think it was possible to get deja vu with your own imagination!! I thought it was purely regarding situations, places and people.

    *shrugs* I guess we’ll never know what it really is. But it’s fun to speculate 🙂

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      May 12, 2014 @ 18:12:42

      Hi Jenny! You know, maybe you had written that scene before . . . in an alternate reality! Just like sometimes in our dreams . . . maybe we occasionally dream of things we’ve done in other spheres. Strange stuff, I know.:) But very possibly true! Always great hearing from you!

      Reply

  7. teagan geneviene
    May 10, 2014 @ 12:04:39

    Mike, it seems you’ve hit a note that resonates with many people. I truly enjoyed this post. Maybe someday I can tell you about “Bubble Theory” — my take on String Theory.
    Bubble on…

    Reply

  8. jalal michael sabbagh.http:/gravatar,com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com
    May 10, 2014 @ 16:54:01

    Great perspective .Something to ponder about .I think it happens more often .Cheers. jalal

    Reply

  9. Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner
    May 10, 2014 @ 18:14:56

    Great post Mike! Did I say that already?

    Reply

  10. stockdalewolfe
    May 11, 2014 @ 08:12:29

    Really intriguing post and so well written, as usual. Very interesting ideas. Of course, I think of reincarnation and past lives but parallel worlds, yes.

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      May 12, 2014 @ 18:17:07

      Thanks Ellen! Yes, I, too, believe it’s all on the table and all of it (parallel lives, past lives, etc) are very possible. The universe is much more layered than we often imagine. Very glad you enjoyed this!

      Reply

  11. laurie27wsmith
    May 12, 2014 @ 23:11:06

    Great post Mike. I’ve been to places too where I’ve told my wife what is around the corner, buildings etc. I believe that we all have OOBE’s in our sleep and don’t always remember them. Then when we turn up somewhere that we’ve ‘visited’ in our sleep it all comes rushing back. There’s something happening out there.

    Reply

  12. Sheryl Wright Stinchcum
    May 13, 2014 @ 01:17:03

    I love the pictures you chose to go with your story. Especially that clock! I think that deja vu might have something to do with dreams, a subject of endless fascination to me.

    Reply

  13. Shelley
    May 13, 2014 @ 02:51:31

    Very interesting. I believe in past lives which would explain why I have all of these princess qualities. 🙂 Well done.

    Reply

  14. Sue Dreamwalker
    May 14, 2014 @ 18:37:11

    YOu know Mike, I am sure there are parallel worlds And Deja vu has happened more than once with myself… I was fascinated in reading this piece Mike.. And thank you for clicking the like button upon my posts too.. 🙂

    Hoping you are well, I am enjoying your writings

    Love and Blessings Sue.. Apologies I have not commented recently 🙂

    Reply

  15. Gallivanta
    May 15, 2014 @ 10:10:26

    I have experienced deja vu moments but nothing as strong as your experience. There is much to learn about our minds and our world.

    Reply

  16. isabelburt
    May 29, 2014 @ 22:10:32

    Well as my old teacher would have said – a thought- provoking post 😉 Thank you Mr Eye Dancer !

    Reply

  17. isabelburt
    May 29, 2014 @ 22:12:53

    p.s. Love the black cats too!

    Reply

  18. Catnip
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 17:45:48

    I forgot how much i love your writing and photography. Greatness.. Love Cat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

