A HUG Award and One Lovely Blog Award

When I began The Eye-Dancers site, I never thought of blog awards.  In fact, I didn’t even know they existed!  I remember how surprised I was the first time I was nominated for an award.  And as I’ve been fortunate enough to be nominated for others in the months since, the feeling is always the same–grateful, touched, and humbled by all the fantastic bloggers and wonderful people in the WordPress community.  So, thanks to everyone who has visited and supported The Eye-Dancers blog!  You’re the ones who make this fun for me.

Recently, I was nominated for two new awards–The HUG Award, and One Lovely Blog Award.

I was also nominated for a Very Inspiring Blog Award by grbxxenormyn and Lipstick and Chaos.  Even though I was lucky enough to have been nominated for this award in late 2012, I wanted to thank both of these great bloggers and encourage you to check out their sites!

**************

Thank you so much to Tazein at the Transcending Borders Blog for nominating The Eye-Dancers site for the HUG Award!

HOPE UNITES GLOBALLY -The ‘Hug Award’

It is truly an honor receiving this nomination from Tazein, who, just as her blog title states, strives to transcend borders and cultivate peace in the world.  I highly encourage everyone to visit her wonderful website!

Following is information on the HUG Award . . .

The HUG Award© was initiated by Connie Wayne at A Hope for Today at http://ahopefortoday.com,which promotes hope, love, peace, equality, and unity for all people.

hug-award1

The HUG Award©

  • is for people with an expectant desire for the world, for which they:  Hope for Love; Hope for Freedom; Hope for Peace; Hope for Equality; Hope for Unity; Hope for Joy and Happiness;Hope for Compassion and Mercy; Hope for Faith; Hope for Wholeness and Wellness; Hope for Prosperity; Hope for Ecological Preservation; Hope for Oneness
  •  recognizes and honors those who help keep hope alive in our current world, which is plagued by war, natural disasters, and economic recession.  They nurture hope, in any of the above areas (in italics),  by the work they do, or in their personal lives with things such as blogging, public speaking, charity work, etc.
  • is for people who, without giving up or compromising their own religious, spiritual, or political beliefs, are able to nurture hope and respect the dignity of all people. 
  • is for those who, without bias or prejudice, use their resources and gifts to make the world a better place for everyone.
  • is for people who have a hope or an expectant desire that the work or talents they use in things such as blogging, public speaking, charity work, etc., will make a positive impact on the world.

These people do not have to actively use the word “hope” in their work or creative talents.  They only need be conscious of their desire to make the world a better place for everyone.

These people use their available resources–a smile, a hug, a helping hand, a listening ear, a voice, time, money, possessions, education, personality, talent, websites and blogs—to make a positive impact on the world and make the world a better place to live.


I would like to nominate the following websites for the HUG Award.  Each of these blogs, in their own unique way, brings something worthwhile and special to the world.  I very much hope you will settle in and browse through their sites!

http://theothersideofugly.com/

http://familyeverything.wordpress.com/

http://cariwiese.wordpress.com/

http://greenlightlady.wordpress.com/

http://gorjaeous.com/

http://thekatandthefallingleaves.wordpress.com/

http://yourinnerfeathersbyruby.wordpress.com/

http://oursunshines.wordpress.com/

http://shiro51144.wordpress.com/

http://talkingexperience.wordpress.com/

******************

The next award is One Lovely Blog Award!  I want to thank Joseyphina for this wonderful honor!  Joseyphina has a very creative and, well, lovely, site!  It is a great feeling being nominated by her.

The rules for One Lovely Blog Award are very straightforward:  thank the blogger who nominated you and link the post to their page, and then state 7 random facts about yourself and nominate those you feel are deserving of the award.

Here are seven things about myself . . .

1. Like any true Vermonter (albeit not a Vermont native!), I enjoy pure maple syrup.  And we’re in the heart of maple sugaring season right now.  There’s nothing quite like Grade A maple syrup on pancakes or waffles.

vermontsyrup

 

Also, an interesting tidbit.  Even though there are only five states smaller than Vermont, the Green Mountain State is the nation’s #1 producer of maple syrup!  Bon appetit!

mapleproduction

 

waffles

 

2. Throughout high school, I really enjoyed Math, and was under the impression that I was pretty good at it.  Then, in my Senior year, I met Calculus.  To put it mildly, it wasn’t a pleasant relationship.  I soon discovered that, whether I studied hard or not at all, either way I had absolutely no clue what I was doing!

calculus

 

3. There are so many terrifying scenes throughout movie history.  From Hitchcock to modern-day horror films and many movies in between, Hollywood likes to scare us.  But of all the scenes I’ve witnessed, nothing creeps me out more than the two ghost girls from The Shining.   In Stephen’s King novel, if memory serves, they do not appear in the hallway of the haunted Overlook Hotel.  But in Stanley Kubrick’s eerie 1980 film they do.  And Danny, the little boy with “the shining,” sees them, and knows who they are and what they represent.

“Come and play with us,” they say.  “Come and play with us, Danny.  Forever, and ever, and ever . . .”

For me, it doesn’t get any scarier than this . . .

girls

 

danny

 

4.  I am a big tennis fan, and have enjoyed the sport since I was a kid growing up in the ’80s.  But the generation of top players we have today is. arguably, the strongest group we’ve ever seen.  Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Roger Federer, and Rafael Nadal are incredibly gifted players, all playing at a high level simultaneously.  It makes for riveting tennis.

That said, I miss the serve-and-volleyers of decades past.  Very few players rush the net these days.  It’s a lost art, and that’s sad to see.  There is nothing more exciting on a tennis court than watching a gifted net-rusher going up against a pinpoint-accurate baseliner.  I miss the daring, attacking style of Pete Sampras, Patrick Rafter, John McEnroe, and, the best pure volleyer and greatest net player I ever saw, Stefan Edberg.

edberg

 

5.  One of my favorite writers is Ray Bradbury.  I consider him the best short story writer of all time.  He enjoyed a seemingly endless well of ideas, inspiration, and enthusiasm.  He had the rare ability to make everyday events, like buying a pair of sneakers, seem magical.  Whenever I’m lacking ideas or feeling burned out, I turn to Bradbury, read a few of his gems, and almost instantly feel recharged again.

bradbury

 

6.  I was born, and grew up in, Rochester, New York.  And one thing Rochester is known for is its lilacs.  Each May, Highland Park, on the city’s south side, is host to the Lilac Festival.  There are live entertainers, tons of high-calorie foods, and all manner of activities going on. But more than anything, people come to see the lilacs.  Highland Park is home to over 1,200 lilac shrubs, and during the festival, with the flowers in bloom, it is a breathtaking sight.  (Fragrant, too!)  It’s not for nothing that my hometown is often referred to as “The Flower City.”

lilacfest

 

 

lilacfest

 

lilacfun

lilacs

 

7. In a previous Awards post, I shared some of my favorite vintage comic book covers from my collection.  Here are a few more . . .

hom134

 

ff72

 

sa95

 

sa2

 

hos97

 

tos29

 

And now it’s time to nominate some of my fellow bloggers for One Lovely Blog Award.  I hope you’ll have a chance to explore these sites.  They’re intriguing, informative, and eclectic.  In short (something this post has most assuredly not been!), they’re great!

http://freerangecow.com/

http://fashionmayann.wordpress.com/

http://bookmust.wordpress.com/

http://catherinesherman.wordpress.com/

http://dishingitoutwithclarissa.com/

http://kelihasablog.wordpress.com/

http://tommiastablet.wordpress.com/

http://mummyshymz.wordpress.com/

http://likeitiz.wordpress.com/

http://failuretolisten.com/

http://bettysbrownies.wordpress.com/

http://laurenlfleming.wordpress.com/

http://sheslosingit.net/

http://annechia.com/

http://bringmorebooks.wordpress.com/

******************

Thank you again to Tazein, Joseyphina, grbxxenormyn, and Lipstick and Chaos for the nominations!

And thanks so much to everyone for reading!

–Mike

90 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. willowdot21
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 18:39:27

    congratulations 😉 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cowboys and Crossbones
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 19:13:36

    Congrats on your awards! I was fortunate enough to live in New Hampshire one summer and grew overly fond of the Vermont maple syrup. Heaven!

    Reply

  3. peacelovegreatcountrymusic
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 19:35:28

    Love your blog, congrats on your awards!

    Reply

  4. mcwoman
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 19:46:50

    I love the lilacs! How beautiful it must be when they are in bloom. You’ve just added another destination to my bucket list.

    Reply

  5. 2embracethelight
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 20:08:05

    Very good indeed my friend. I promise you I will get the award put up and the blog written for it. Like you, it humbles and elates in a joyous and uniting kind of way. Sending a hug for you.
    Yisraela

    Reply

  6. joseyphina
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 20:26:13

    Lovely!

    Reply

  7. martaperegrina
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 22:11:54

    Felicitaciones por la merecida nominación.
    Te deseo a tí y seres queridos una Feliz Pascua.
    Un cariñoso abrazo

    Reply

  8. myfavesjournal
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 22:17:49

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  9. greenlightlady
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 22:42:51

    Mike, what a beautiful collection of pictures you’ve posted! Congratulations on your awards! Thank you so much for the honor of being nominated. I love being included as one who inspires hope. Without hope – people perish!

    Blessings dear friend ~ Wendy

    Reply

  10. shiroknowes
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 22:48:09

    Congratulations and thanks and again thanks !!!

    Reply

  11. tommiaw
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 23:16:41

    Congratulations on the kudos!

    Reply

  12. Lyn
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 02:38:16

    Well done my writerly friend; congratulations 🙂

    Reply

  13. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 03:36:29

    Award city! Congrats 🙂

    That “Come & play with us, Danny, forever & ever & ever” – yup, doesn’t get scarier than that!

    Reply

  14. mummyshymz
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 05:16:01

    Congratulations and and thank you very much for your nomination! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Sara P.G.
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 06:16:19

    Congratulations Mike!

    Reply

  16. Anne Chia
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 07:32:14

    Congratulations Mike,you deserve all those awards. Thank you for the nomination. It’s really very kind of you. Am definitely blogging on 🙂

    Reply

  17. Joanna
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 08:33:27

    Congratulations! You deserve it! Your posts always make me smile. Well done

    Reply

  18. Angela Grant
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 10:48:10

    Congratulations on your nomination for both awards! You certainly deserve both.

    Thank you very much for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award. It’s an honor and means very much to me – it made my day when I read your note. Thank you again for honoring my blog by nominating it.

    The Eye Dancers, you are the Best! -Angela

    Reply

  19. words4jp
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 14:00:31

    Congrats on your awards – you are certainly deserving:) My son just watched The Shining in his Media class (an advanced honors English course at this HS) – yes – watching the Shining in English – don’t i wish? Anyways, he loved this scene:)

    Reply

  20. krisdw76
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 15:43:12

    Thanks again for nominating me :), I am tickled pink! But I honestly dont know what to do now lol, do I reblog this or write post about it on my blog? Or do I do nothing? Sorry, I am still a newbie.

    Reply

  21. Christy Birmingham
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 17:29:49

    Congratulations on the award – HUGSSSS!

    Reply

  22. evilnymphstuff
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 18:24:24

    I really love that HUG award! Congrats for both! You really deserve them 🙂 Keep blogging!

    Reply

  23. likeitiz
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 20:05:16

    First of all, congratulations. I have to admit, I’m partial to Canadian maple syrup. Still have my sister bring me some every time she comes to visit. We used to live in Toronto, that’s why. I love the Silver Surfer!!! And Ray Bradbury too. Sad he passed on last June.

    Thank you for including me in your circle. I”m so honored. So hugged too! I’m doing my Snoopy dance up and down the hallway in our house…. ;-D

    Reply

  24. JodetteP
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 05:07:46

    Congratulations on both the awards! I think your blog is really great and definitely deserving.
    Also, thank you very much for the nomination!

    Reply

  25. dannadesigns
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 06:20:49

    Congratulations sweetie!

    Reply

  26. words4jp
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 18:22:55

    Hah! Here is another – Happy Easter – I have a special present for you – http://words4jp.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/award-doings-7/ I have nominated you for the Epically Awesome Award for Epic Awesomeness!

    Kimberly

    Reply

  27. Jae
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 00:38:47

    Thank you for the nomination, Mike! Congratulations, by the way! 🙂

    Reply

  28. cynt5525
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 12:49:02

    Congratulations ~~ Your blog is Beautiful !!! *Cynthia

    Reply

  29. kelihasablog
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 14:35:45

    Thank you Michael…. I will do my best, though it might be a bit late. LOL… Your blog is always wonderful and inspirational… Congrats on the awards!

    Reply

  30. Charron's Chatter
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 17:16:17

    Ray is THE man. I met him twice as a keynote speaker at our annual SBWC…what’s your favorite? I like: The Sound of Thunder–and Golden Apples…and all the rest, but i realllLLLy loved those. 🙂

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Apr 01, 2013 @ 17:37:27

      Hi Karen! “Sound of Thunder” is right up there! “The Dwarf.” “The Jar.” “The Small Assassin” may be the scariest short story I ever read! “The Crowd” So many! And what a thrill that you met him twice!

      Reply

  31. jamieayres
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 01:08:58

    You’re raking in the awards! Hmm . . . sugar syrup, a staple of the Elf diet, lol!

    Reply

  32. 2embracethelight
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 03:11:05

    Hi
    I don’t need an award, but can you just send the hug? I sure need one lately.
    Seriously I do.
    Yisraela

    Reply

  33. Fashion Mayann
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 06:12:02

    Congratulations for your awards : you deserve it, your site is GREAT !!! Thank you so much for nominating me : this is a huge honor ! However, you have to know that I never follow the rules of awards because of my editorial guideline (I never publish posts about myself) but your nomination makes me really happy ! Thanks again and keep on the tremendous work ! Mayann

    Reply

    • The Eye-Dancers
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 12:25:48

      Thanks so much! And even though you won’t follow through with the award on your site, it was still great to nominate you! You have a great site! Thanks again for all your kind words.:)

      Reply

  34. Trackback: Blog Award | Tommia's Tablet
  35. Sam Han
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 18:33:39

    Congratulations Mike 😀

    Reply

  36. BeWithUs
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 06:18:56

    Congratulations~ Cheers!! 😀

    Reply

  37. FreeRangeCow
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 15:40:18

    You are inspiring, lovely, and give good cyber hugs! Good on ya! Thanks for the nod…I need to get my award posted. Yay! ;oD

    Reply

  38. YOGiNi
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 17:07:01

    Congratulations!! Way to go…

    Reply

  39. FreeUrCloset
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 17:15:43

    Congratulations. You have a great site.
    xo Natasha

    Reply

  40. Trackback: One Lovely Blog Award Nomination « Failure to Listen
  41. Lauren Fleming
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 21:42:15

    Oh my goodness, thank you so much! I always seem to win these things after I’ve gone away for a while, and I feel awful cause now I think I’ve seemed rude. In any case, I’ll post my list tomorrow!

    Reply

  42. lovemyarts
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 04:58:34

    Hello!! I think you fully deserved the awards, your writing is awesome, and I would gladly follow yours too!! 🙂

    Reply

  43. Trackback: Call for nominations of the Versatile Blogger and The One Moment Awards « Failure to Listen
  44. Trackback: One Lovely Blog Award | mummyshymz

Leave a Reply

