How to Tell If You’re Addicted to Your Cell Phone

When Mitchell Brant, Joe Marma, Ryan Swinton, and Marc Kuslanski find themselves in the variant town of Colbyville, they quickly realize that their cell phones don’t function.  Colbyville, after all, has no cell network in place.  While there, the boys’ cell phones are useless.  This of course raises a question.  If you were stranded somewhere, perhaps some town in the middle of nowhere, or, perhaps, in some parallel world where the concept of cellular technology did not yet exist–how would you cope with the loss of your cell phone’s usefulness?  Would you be able to pocket it and not mind a bit?  Or would you struggle through a period of withdrawal?

All things considered, the boys in The Eye-Dancers handle the situation pretty well.  They miss being able to use their mobile phones, but they don’t dwell on it.  Of course, given the situation they’re in, literally life-or-death, they do have more pressing things to worry about!

But just the other day, when I took my car in to the shop to have it serviced and then took the shuttle ride back to work, I couldn’t help but notice my driver’s dependence on his cell phone.  He was a bald guy in his mid-thirties who sported a goatee and a backwards-wearing baseball cap.  He’d just moved up from Florida (he shared this with another passenger in the shuttle).  “You have it twisted in reverse,” the other passenger said.  “Most people in New England go to Florida in winter.  Not the other way around.”

“Yeah,” the driver said.  “If I had a dollar for every time someone told me that the last couple of weeks, I’d be rich.”  Moments later, he dropped the other passenger off, and then asked me where I work.  I told him, and he drove away.  It would be about a ten-minute drive to my office.

As we drove, I noticed he had his cell phone on his lap.  Every few seconds it would chirp, and he’d pick it up to read the new text.  One time, he moaned, threw his cap off, scratched his head.  Then he called someone and had a brief conversation.  A moment later, the phone chirped again.  He picked it up, while driving, read the text, keyed in a quick response.

“Where do you work again?” he asked two stop lights later.  I told him again, just as his phone chirped.  On and on it went, the entire drive.  When he dropped me off, he said he’d have the shop give me a call when my car was ready and he’d pick me up.

When he did, the same scenario played itself out.  Cell phone on his thigh, as he continually checked it.  I had to think to myself:  He wouldn’t last five minutes in Colbyville!

Easy for me to say, of course.  I use my cell phone sparingly–never having gotten in the habit of it.  Besides, it’s an archaic Tracfone, a relic.  When I show it to people, they usually laugh out loud and say, “Hey, I had one of those once.  About ten years ago!”

tf

Clearly, there isn’t much chance of me being addicted to this particular device!  It’s definitely not a smart phone.  It’s quite dumb.

So . . . how can you tell if you’re addicted to your mobile phone?  Well, if like my shuttle-driving friend, you keep it on your lap as you drive passengers to and from the auto shop, you’re probably hooked.

And you probably wouldn’t like it in Colbyville very much.

Thanks for reading!

–Mike

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nymuse88
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 21:29:05

    First of all, how dangerous was it that he was texting while driving you!! Geez! Second, when I had a smart phone I couldn’t go five minutes without checking for texts, checking the time, checking it again because I didn’t actually check the first time, and playing around with apps. However, my phone bill became too high so I had to go back to a basic phone of just call and text. Now I rarely check my phone and I actually prefer having this one to a smart phone. Not only am I paying only $22 a month rather than $100, but I also don’t feel like a little piece of technology is sucking my soul away.

    Reply

  2. kelihasablog
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 03:39:09

    I am addicted to having it with me, but not necessarily for talking or texting…LOL.
    I was always the little kid who wouldn’t take a nap cuz she was afraid she’d miss something… well, it’s the same with the phone. I’m afraid someone may need me and I will not be able to get their quickly enough… LOL Goofy, I know… 😀

    Reply

  3. 24/7 in France
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 13:15:19

    Have mine for emergencies so don’t use it as much as most and not addicted – nice to have though! Thanks for visiting my blog too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

