A Very (Corny) Christmas

I admit it.  I enjoy corny things.  The kinds of things that make you shake your head, mutter under your breath, and yet . . . and yet . . . they just have a certain charm to them you can’t resist.

Take It’s A Wonderful Life.  It’s corny, sure it is.  But it’s also my all-time favorite movie.  Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy hard-edged, gritty drama just as much as the next guy.  But if I want something to put me in a good mood, I’ll pull out an old comic book, tune it to The Honeymooners, or watch Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed in this timeless holiday classic.

In fact, in The Eye-Dancers, I did give a tip of the author’s cap to It’s A Wonderful Life.  In the movie, the small town where the action takes place is called Bedford Falls.  In The Eye-Dancers, the story begins in Bedford–without the “Falls”!  Much of The Eye-Dancers takes place in the variant town of Colbyville, but it’s definitely no accident that it begins in Bedford.

I’ve seen It’s A Wonderful Life  many times, yet I still choke up at the end.  Yes, I shake my head.  Yes, I tell myself not to be such a sap.  But then Jimmy Stewart starts singing “Auld Lang Syne” and the bell rings and Clarence gets his wings . . .

Maybe I’ll get a chance to watch some of it again this week.  And it’ll get to me.  It always does.

Wishing everyone a wonderful holiday!

–Mike

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fashion Mayann
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 13:27:02

    My favorite Sunday-night ritual, when I was studying English in Montpellier, was watching old movies, such as “It’s a Wonderful Life”, “Mr Smith Goes to Washington” and “The Shop Around the Corner” on TV : I guess that, back then, James Stewart was my favorite actor ! Thanks for paying tribute to “It’s a Wonderful Life” in this poignant post !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

